Scientific Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board

 Professor Winnacker is co-founder of MediGene and chairman of the company's supervisory bodies since 1994. He studied chemistry at the Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) - Federal Institute of Technology Zurich, where he graduated and did his doctorate.   After research assignments in Berkley, USA, and at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm, Sweden, and his postdoctoral lecturing qualification at the university of Cologne, Professor Winnacker holds a chair of biochemistry at the university of Munich since 1980. There he built up the biochemistriy of viruses department, and in 1984 he founded the Munich Gene Center, of which he is the chairman since the beginning. From 1984 until 1987, Professor Winnacker was president of the German Society for Biological Chemistry. Since 1996, he has been visiting professor at the Harvard Medical School in Boston, Massachusetts. From 1987 until 1993 he acted as Vice President of the German Resarch Foundation (DFG). From 1998 until 2006, Professor Winnacker has been full-time President of the DFG. He also served from 2007 until 2009 as Secretary-General of the European Research Council of the European Commission in Brussels and from 2009 until 2015 as Secretary General of The Human Frontier Science Program in Strasbourg. Professor Winnacker has received numerous awards in science.

Dr. Micha Drukker

Micha Drukker performed his PhD thesis at The Hebrew University in Israel, and post doctoral studies at Stanford University Medical School, where he gained the knowledge and developed techniques with which tissue progenitor cells can be isolated very efficiently from mixed cultures of differentiating human pluripotent stem cells. Since 2012 he has been heading the junior research group “Human Pluripotent Stem Cell Lineage Choice” and the core facility “Human Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells” at the Institute of Stem Cell Research at Helmholtz Zentrum München in Germany. Dr. Drukker’s current research encompass the mechanisms that regulate differentiation and misbehavior in disease of tissue-regenerating progenitor cells from pluripotent stem cells, including beta cells that are the cornerstone for therapy of type 1 diabetes.

Prof. Dr. Peter H. Krammer

Prof. Peter Krammer, M.D., conducted ground-breaking research in the field of apoptosis. His work has been the key to understanding the signaling pathways that control this mechanism of cell death. Prof. Krammer is author of more than 400 scientific publications. Throughout his distinguished career, Prof. Krammer has received numerous awards, including the Robert Koch Prize, the German Cancer Award, the Kitasato-Behring Prize, the Avery-Landsteiner Prize, the Ernst Jung Prize, and the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany. Currently, Prof. Krammer is Head of the Division of Immunogenetics in the Tumor Immunology Program at the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ).

Dr. Lawrence E. Samelson

Dr. Samelson is Chief and Senior Investigator of the Laboratory of Cellular and Molecular Biology at the Center for Cancer Research (CCR) of the National Cancer Institute (NCI). Dr. Samelson received his M.D. degree from Yale University in 1977. Following training in internal medicine at the University of Chicago, he carried out postdoctoral research at the Laboratory of Immunology, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. He joined the Cell Biology and Metabolism Branch, National Institute of Child Health and Human Development in 1985, became senior investigator in 1988, and chief of the Section on Lymphocyte Signaling and deputy branch chief in 1995. He became chief of the Laboratory of Cellular and Molecular Biology, NCI, in 1999. 

Dr. Samelson oversees a Laboratory whose members focus on various signal transduction systems and pathways. He and the members of his laboratory have performed studies on the biochemistry and cell biology of the signal transduction mechanisms coupled to the T cell antigen receptor. The role of protein tyrosine kinases, adapter molecules and molecular signaling complexes have been a central interest.

Prof. Dr. Freda Stevenson

Freda Stevenson is Professor of Immunology within Medicine at the University of Southampton. She received her DPhil in Biochemistry from the University of Oxford in 1964. After appointments at the University of Sydney, the University of Oxford, at the Southampton General Hospital und the University of Southampton, Freda Stevenson became Professor of Immunology at the University of Southampton in 1997.Professor Stevenson has been involved in the initiation and establishment of research into lymphoma. She pioneered the use of immunogenetics to probe the origin and behavior of B-cell malignancies and she is the author of >250 papers. In 2015, she was awarded the Rai-Binet medal for her work on chronic lymphocytic leukemia by the International Workshop on CLL. She also pioneered the development of DNA fusion vaccines to activate immunity against cancer, which are in current clinical trials.  In 2014 Professor Stevenson received the Jean Bernard Lifetime Achievement award from the European Haematology Association for her work. Professor Stevenson is an elected Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences and is an Associate Editor of the top hematological journal Blood.

Prof. Dr. Jolanda de Vries

Jolanda de Vries is Professor at the Department of Tumor Immunology at the Radboud Institute for Molecular Life Sciences. Jolanda de Vries did her PhD at the Department of Dermatology of University Medical Centre Utrecht (The Netherlands) from 1991-1997. In 1997 she joined the Department of Tumor Immunology, Radboud Institute for Molecular Life Sciences, Radboudumc. 

She was one of the pioneers to translate dendritic cell (DC) biology into potential clinical applications. The first clinical phase I/II studies in which patients were vaccinated with DCs loaded with tumor-specific peptides were initiated in 1997. She also developed a novel immuno-monitoring assay that is highly predictive for extended survival after vaccination with DCs. Her primary scientific interest continues along the line of DC-immunotherapy and in particular the migration and imaging of DC.